Clouds and a {potential} Rain Dance

June 7, 2011 § 1 Comment

Folks from west Texas pay attention to clouds.  We have to.  They bring rain after all.

The Big Bend area has been without any significant rain for 10 months.  And we’ve had range fires to prove it.  I honestly can’t remember it ever being this dry.

It doesn’t usually rain a lot until July and August.  So, we are all holding out hope that the clouds will come.  And the rain.

Day 3. 30 Day photography challenge. Clouds.

I waited an entire cloudless day to take this picture.  Just pitiful little puff of clouds not anywhere close.  And this isn’t west Texas.  It’s in the city.  We need rain in the city, too.

“A pessimist sees only the dark side of the clouds, and mopes; a philosopher sees both sides, and shrugs;
an optimist doesn’t see the clouds at all – he’s walking on them.
Leonard Louis Levinson”

Clouds at the Davidson by J

I would much rather see these kinds of clouds.  This was taken by my husband last fall.  I have this picture as the screen saver on my cell phone.  I love it.  Makes me think of this:

A cloud does not know why it moves in just such a direction and at such a speed, it feels an impulsion… .this is the place to go now. But the sky knows the reason and the patterns behind all clouds, and you will know, too, when you lift yourself high enough to see beyond horizons.”
Richard Bach

Grumpy{my grandfather} called the clouds that bring big rain thunderheads.  I have no idea if that’s a technical term or a Grumpy~ism.  Either way, I love thunderheads.  There is nothing like rain in the mountains!  I thought you might like to see a ‘real’, ‘big’ cloud… west Texas Style.

A Glass Mountain Sunset by Tanner Quigg

Tanner is an amazing young photographer.  You can find his website here.   {He just did a wedding photo shoot for a friend of ours at the Davidson… in the boulders… in high heels and a wedding dress.  Can’t wait to see them!}

And I would be remiss if I forgot to mention my FIRST fav west Texas photographer, Michelle, of Lost on the Horizon Photography.  I seriously admired this photo… and she had it printed for me.  Hope you enjoy.

Lost on the Horizon. In west Texas.

Today I’m sending out extra love and prayers to all of the Big Bend area.  Lord, please send the rain.  If it would help, maybe we can all get together and do a rain dance.  I’m not above putting a feather in my hair{it’s the ‘thing’ right now, anyway} for effect.  And so I’ll close with an Indian blessing.

You see, I had been riding with the storm clouds, and had come to earth as rain, and it was drought that I had killed with the power that the Six Grandfathers gave me.
Black Elk

Big, Mj

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Clouds and a {potential} Rain Dance

  • What would I do without you? Truly though, Tanner is a much better photographer – I’m just lucky. My heart aches for all our friends and family at home who continue to suffer at the hand of mother nature. I pray she treats them kindly and lovingly like a mother should.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Clouds and a {potential} Rain Dance at Redhouse Ranch.

meta

